Art Journal pages 6-9

Hi everybody,

Back again this week with some more art journal pages! I’ve been trying out some materials in different layouts, to find out which ones I like to use in my journal and here’s what I came up with!

Page 6. "Loneliness" (Acrylics, watersoluble graphite and Posca markers).

Page 6. “Loneliness” (Acrylics, water-soluble graphite and Posca markers).

For page 6 I’ve tried my new Koh-I-Noor water-soluble graphite pencils (also for the pages 3 and 4)! I drew this face after a photo. Just practicing my portrait drawing for this page. Unfortunately, my journal book is made of thick craft paper, which is actually perfect for acrylics and collage, but not quite suitable for using water colours: the paper doesn’t take up the water. (My next journal may just be a handmade book consisting of mixed-media paper or cold-pressed water colour paper😉.) For now, I simply drew the face with my water-soluble pencils in a 180 g grained paper sketch book and cut it out. If you don’t like your drawings, or just don’t have inspiration or time, you could just as well cut up a magazine or photos and make a collage. Then, I used my favorite multi-purpose (Scherning) Art Medium to stick my drawing to the page. It’s a glue, waterproof (though sticky) ‘varnish’ and paint medium all-in-one (comparable to gel medium etc.) so I use tons of it!!  Then, add some acrylics (which will stick to the art medium very well) to hide the shine and glossy effect of the art medium and to paint the hair. I’ve used a white Uni Posca marker to add some text, which I erased a bit for the blog images… Sorry about that ;)! I told you I never use Photoshop to spruce up my images just for the visual effect, although for my art journal pages I do use editing software to hide my personal writings. Anyway, imagine some white text on the left page😉.

And here’s page 7! Remember the DIY eraser stamps I wrote about a few weeks ago? Then you have probably seen the right page of this one before. For this page I wanted to try my hand-carved peacock feather stamp and one of my doll-stamps.

art journal pagina 7

Page 7 “Mantra for the gifted” (Acrylics, hand-carved stamps and Stazon ink, blending chalks, Posca markers)

For page 7 I felt like painting a bee (yes, it is supposed to look like a bee but it could just as well be a wasp, hahah). So, that’s what I did. I’ve stamped some stars as well; with a stamp I bought in the store. The rest of the background was painted with acrylics, using my favorite and least expensive tool: my fingers! Then, I stamped a few dolls on 180 gr grained paper and stained them with blending chalks, for a light pastel colour. I cut out the dolls and glued them to the page. Then stamped around with my peacock feather stamp. I’ve used water-colour pencils to add a bit more colour to the feathers. Surprise surprise: the Posca marker again for some text (which I erased. Again).

Here’s page 8! I felt like making a doodle brain. Or zentangle, if you like🙂

Page 8 "Doodle brain"(Acrylics and Posca marker)

For this one I actually took one of my human anatomy books as an example for the brain. I painted the shape with acrylics first and divided it into small areas with my Posca marker. Smaller areas are easier to fill up with different doodle patterns. Well, easier in the sense that with smaller areas I don’t feel anxious about starting to doodle and mess up my page😉.

And the last one for today, page 9, was inspired by my dear cats! For your information, this is one of the pages I don’t like that much, though I enjoyed the way I created it: painting with coffee!!

Page 9 "cats love me anyway" (Acrylics, coffee, soft pastels, hand-carved stamp, stazon ink and Posca marker)

Page 9 “cats love me anyway” (Acrylics, coffee, soft pastels, hand-carved stamp, Stazon ink, water-soluble wax crayons and Posca marker)

I painted my cat Punky with coffee on my thicker grained paper. So don’t throw away cold/too-strong/leftover coffee! Just take a brush and start practicing watercolouring ;)! The image may look familiar, because I used the same photo as an example for the coffee painting as for a drawing I showed 9 months ago. I’ve struggled with this page. It didn’t turn out the way I wanted and by adding more lines, colour and details I think I just made it worse. In the end, I did like the idea of painting with coffee, adding doodles on the page and using my sepia soft pastels to blend the glued drawing with the rest of the page. Though maybe this was not the most artsy day for me. Still happy with it though!

Please leave a comment for I would love to hear your thoughts!

Happy crafting this week!

Veerle ondertekening

Geef een reactie

