DIY eraser stamps

Last week I wrote down some thoughts about art journaling and I have to say, I totally love it!! It’s perfect for someone who, like me, would like to journal but never gets the words down right. And, don’t forget, you don’t have to be an artist to art journal! Unfortunately, art supplies tend to be somewhat expensive. The bright side is: if you have patience and take a bit more time, some things can be done the cheaper way. Also, if you like to use stencils and stamps (for example for a background, or to add detail to your pages), sometimes it’s really hard to find the perfect image. You may be spending hours or days looking for the right stamp… So, to start with, here are some examples of how to make your own stamps from erasers!

When I was younger, big erasers were sold anywhere, but at the moment they are really hard to find in stores here in the Netherlands… So, still looking for a bigger size… Anyway, my sister got me a lino-cutting tool for Christmas, which came with various knives. She got me two big erasers as well, which were sold in the same crafting store (apparently…). I really should ask here where she bought them, so I can get some more. Because: making stamps is addictive!!! For now, I started with the two erasers she gave me and a few smaller ones I bought myself.

The supplies you’ll need: a pencil, some erasers (I prefer the cheap, plastic stiff ones. Carving details in soft erasers is very hard because small edges will bend and break easily!) and a tool for lino-cutting.

supplies

Start by drawing a design on your eraser, with a pencil or a pen. You could draw your own design or trace one with carbon paper. I drew mine myself, though I did use photos of peacock feathers for inspiration for the feather stamp.. Below you can see two finished stamps and the ones I still had to carve…

butterfly and girl stamp

Then, decide which parts you want to carve. Do you want a positive or a negative image? So, either carve everything except your drawing, or just the lines of the drawing and leave the rest…

Start carving🙂

This one says ‘Handmade’:

IMGP0481

carving stamps1

Once your done, try your stamp on a piece of paper. If you’re not satisfied with the look yet, you can do a bit more carving for a finishing touch.

If you are happy with the result, stamp your image on a piece of thick paper, wood or cardboard.

stamp on thick paperHere you see I made some background stamps, for example the coffee stain and the bricks. I could use the leaves, owl, little girl and butterfly for detailing as well.

Then cut out the thick paper to the size of your stamp (eraser). Use Art medium or mod podge to adhere the paper to the backside, so you will know what image the stamp will make. Make sure to glue it the way the image will look when putting the stamp down on paper (so don’t put it upside down or something😉 )

glue paper to stampBy gluing the image to the eraser with art medium/mod podge, you will be able to wash off stamping ink (only if it’s water soluble ink of course) or acrylic paint after stamping, without blurring the ink on the example on top.

peacock stamp2

That’s it! You can go crazy now with stamping anything!!😉

Here I used my own ‘handmade’ stamp to make labels for my handmade gifts!

handmade labelsI stained the edges of the labels with Stazon ink.

And here is an example of the peacock feather in one of my Art Journal pages. There is white text in the page, but I erased it a bit… That’s kind of personal😉 Still a journal you know😛

You can use blending chalks (powder chalks), watercolor pencils or anything you like, to add color to your stamps.

peacock stamp

art journal page 6

Have fun making your own stamps!!!

I am starting on making stencils as well, so probably in a few weeks or so, you will find some examples of that🙂

Happy crafting!

Veerle ondertekening

 

 

 

2 gedachtes over “DIY eraser stamps

Geef een reactie

