Crochet scarf and hat

Hi again!

Last time I thought I was ready for winter. I think I lied😉. How can I be ready for winter without a scarf and a hat?

Since I have been very busy lately and I just started my new job (hooray, good news! Also for you guys, because it’s in a hobby supply store😉 tons of new projects coming up), today I would like to just show you my new scarf and owl hat. And, I have to admit, it will be a short post, for I’m a bit tired at the moment. But hey, still alive and kicking so I thought I’d better let you know that I’m still working on new things! Oh, by the way, I have to apologize for the bad quality pictures this time. But for now, I can only show you the pictures I took with my phone. I promise I will ask someone to take proper pictures of me wearing the set soon🙂 In daylight, preferably.

For this scarf and hat I was inspired by two pictures I found on Pinterest and although I have made my own version of what I saw, it’s not completely my own creativity that you see here😉 For I didn’t really make up the design, you know. If you want to check out the originals or get the REAL DEAL: for the scarf click here and for the Ravelry pattern to make a complete owl hat (and it’s absolutely cute!!) click here.

So, back to my crochet project.

For my first attempt, I tried to crochet a scarf with just double crochets (“stokjes”) with three balls of yarn at the same time. I just used acrylic yarn, originally meant for a crochet hook 4 mm, and used a 7 mm hook for 3 strands together.

scarf 1 in double crochets only

And, although it was pretty thick and warm, I think it was too stiff to wear as a scarf. I didn’t like it. Here you can see me taking a picture of myself with my phone, and seeing the look on my face still makes me laugh. I know this look: hmmm… do I like this? My cats on the other hand seem to enjoy the picture-taking rather much😉

"that's not it... "

Since I can be rather lazy sometimes (“never waste your time spent on crochet”) ánd you can never have enough pillows, I decided to not unwind the whole thing, but just make a new pillow😉

Attempt 1: fail. Make another pillow

Then, I went back to the store and got me some thicker, woolen yarn.

thicker yarnAnd I started over.

This time I used a 10 mm hook, but again just crocheted double crochets until it was long enough.

Then, I tried it on and marked where the buttons should go, stitched on some wooden buttons and there, my scarf was done. Soooo much softer that the first one I made!

scarf

Of course, it had to go with a cute hat🙂

I took my plain acrylic yarn again and crocheted two strand together to get the round top to fit. Then, I crocheted some cables. These are front post triple crochets, and you can find a very good instruction video here. By crocheting two mirrored cable stitches next to each other, you create the look of the owl😉

Every few rounds I tried whether the hat still fitted and once it was done, I sewed on some small buttons to create some eyes for the owl.

And there we go, an owl hat and a different scarf. I think I will wear these with pride🙂

scarf and hat

 

Scarf and owl hat

Maybe I will have to try and write down what I do while crocheting from now on, so I can get you some patterns. But for now, I’ll just stick to the ‘results’, sorry about that😉.  Feel free to send me an email if you would like to get more details about this project!!

Happy crafting!

Veerle ondertekening

 

 

 

 

 

 

Geef een reactie

