Crochet!!!

It has been a while and yes, I have to admit I’ve actually been wondering what I’ve been up to lately… I just finished taking pictures of my most recent projects and, as promised, today I’m sharing an overview of: crochet!! It took me a few more days than I planned though, but I really wanted to finish my last pillow today and include it in the overview🙂

Actually, while taking the pictures I was quite surprised of how many crochet projects I’ve finished in the last few weeks, considering I didn’t know how to crochet if you had asked me two months ago. Don’t really remember how it started though… Oh, that’s right: I wanted to make my own rug! I decided that a hand knitted or crocheted rug has just the perfect touch I was looking for. Of course it may be a bit of a problem if you don’t know how to crochet… So, that’s where it started. Besides, I am a terrible knitter… Somehow I always start with like ten stitches, and by the time I finish a scarf (or something like that) I end up with 20…

So, back to the crochet. As the practical person I am, I like to make practical things (such as the crochet baskets in our multimedia unit). However, since I’ve already painted and repurposed all of our furniture and I was running out of painting projects, I thought it was time to do some decorating around the house, by crocheting some pillows and lampshades. Just to update our old stuff, you know. These actually make a big difference.

Check out the photo collage below, showing all crochet things🙂 Oh, if you click on the first picture a slide show will pop up, which will expand each image.

Unfortunately for you, I don’t use patterns. Therefore, I won’t be able to help you with that.. I taught myself how to crochet, using youtube and links on pinterest. Once you get the principle of increasing and decreasing stitches ánd get a bit more comfortable with the basic stitches, you will be able to expand the repertoire with new decorative stitches you find on youtube. Well, that’s what I did anyway🙂

Just a few tips and very useful websites to get you started:

If you’re Dutch, here are some translations for the basic stitches (and the how-to in words, but really, you have to see it first!). Sometimes it’s easier to find an English tutorial on youtube and now you have the translations as well😉

DC Double crochet = Stk Stokje

Hoe: draad omslaan, insteken, draad omslaan [je hebt nu drie lussen om de haak] door twee lussen halen, draad omslaan [weer drie lussen om haak], draad door alle lussen halen

HDC Half double crochet = HStk Half stokje

Hoe: draad omslaan, insteken, draad omslaan [je hebt nu 3 lussen om je haak], draad doorhalen door alle lussen

SC Single crochet = V vaste

Hoe: insteken, draad omslaan [je hebt nu twee lussen om de haak], door de steek halen [weer twee lussen om je haak], draad omslaan, door allebei de lussen halen.

Slip St Slip stitch = HV halve vaste

Hoe: insteken, draad omslaan, direct door alle lussen halen. Deze steek wordt veel gebruikt bij het sluiten van een toer, dus wanneer je in cirkels haakt.

Ch Chain stitch = L losse

Hoe: draad omslaan en door lus om haak halen. Tip: De allereerste keer kan dit lastig zijn. Trek aan de ketting van lossen en niet (veel) aan de draad die je door moet halen, anders krijg je je haak niet meer door de vorige steek😉.

I found that ‘knuffeldraakje’ , ‘handwerkles’ and ‘wolplein’ on youtube have some very, very useful tutorials for all the basic crochet stitches and shapes. That’s for all Dutch people here😉

I’ve altered the pattern for the little dog in the baby set I got from the Dutch blog: stipenhaak.blogspot.nl. This lady makes oh so cute things!! Mainly stuffed toy animals (is that the correct term?), but very cute! Really, check it out, but a warning: crochet may be addictive😉

And here’s a great crochet basket tutorial! It’s from Minni from nimidesign.com. I found her via Pinterest and I find she makes very nice things!! Go and have a look.

If you are interested in trying a few of my stitches in the pictures above, try and look up a crochet tutorial on youtube for the stitches. I’ve mainly used:

Single cable stitch (white pillow), basket weave stitch (small grey pillow), waffle stitch (big grey pillow), triple crochet cross-stitch (faux cable, on the round pillow) and some basic double crochets (stokjes). I like double crochets especially for the back of my pillow, because it takes less time to finish it with double crochets than with single crochets…

And finally, a few small tips if you’ve never crocheted before and get started:

  • Don’t pull on the yarn too much. You won’t be able to pull it through the previous crochet!
  • Start practicing with plain yarn (try Wibra or Zeeman, in the Netherlands) and a 4,5 mm hook. Believe me, that’s soooooo much easier to practice with that to start with 10 mm right away😉 But hey, if you are as stubborn as I am, a 10 mm hook and thick yarn will do just fine.
  • Instead of using thicker yarn, you could also try using 2 or 3 balls of wool at once and a thicker hook. That’s what I did for these pillows. However, practice with one first, because it will be a bit more challenging if you use multiple balls of wool at the same time.
  • Remember to count your stitches! You will have to practice and make some mistakes, but once you get the logic behind adding stitches per row, you will get, for example, a nice flat circle instead of a wavy one or a bowl-like circle. If you don’t know what I mean, you will once you start crocheting a round basket, believe me😉

I think that’s it for today!

Although I didn’t go into details (because I find myself no expert on crochet) I would be happy to help if you’re having trouble getting started.

But really, if I can teach myself, you can too!

Happy crocheting!!!

crochet time

Veerle ondertekening

Geef een reactie

