Homemade Exfoliating facial mask

Hi again! No furniture makeovers today, you’re gonna have to come back later😉

Although I have been working on some pieces the last couple of weeks, I thought I should share my favourite DIY facial mask with you today. Come back later if you would like to see the result of multimedia unit part 2, and my newest discovery (ánd what seems to be a new addiction): crochet!

For today, here is a very easy extra cleansing facial mask, especially for those people like me, having acne-prone skin. Once in a while my face seems to have some sort of redness/acne-outbreak: could be something I ate, hormones, stress, have I been painting a lot? Whatever the cause: I am in need of some cleansing, but mostly calming treatment!

I love to spoil myself once in a while and apply a facial mask. As these can be expensive ánd sometimes make things even worse, I have combined some ingredients and recipes I found online and came up with this easy facial mask that does the trick for me. Apply it once a week and it may reduce acne, redness and blackheads within weeks! Well, it does for me anyway😉

Just like you would do with any other product: be careful not to use it if you find that your skin reacts badly to the ingredients. Also, this facial mask is not for people with very dry skin, it may be way too harsh! But hey, just try it and see what happens.

All you need is what you (probably) already have in the kitchen:

Exfoliating Facial Mask ingredients

All you need for this Exfoliating Facial Mask

Part 1: Baking soda! I’ve mentioned baking soda as facial cleanser before (links to Dutch post), and I use it for washing my hair and body regularly. Depending on how much water you add, it will either dissolve completely, or remain more of a scrub (also very convenient for cleaning anything around the house😉 ). Remember, it’s like deep-cleansing the skin so don’t use it too often and don’t scrub too hard. Your skin needs time to recover🙂. If you’re not familiar with baking soda, please not that it’s not the same soda you can buy in regular supermarkets in The Netherlands (which is for cleaning mostly). You need sodiumbicarbonate, which you can find in most Asian stores or online..

So, the baking soda deep-cleanses the face and adds to the exfoliating effect in this recipe (scrubby). I use about 2 small teaspoons of baking soda, but it doesn’t really matter: just try and see how much you need.

Part 2: Nutmeg and cinnamon!

Did you know that cinnamon and nutmeg (kaneel en nootmuskaat in Dutch) are both anti-inflammatory spices? Either used internally or topically, they seem to help reduce inflammation. Since acne and most redness of the skin are local inflammations, why not try nutmeg and cinnamon in this facial mask? Also, ground nutmeg adds to the exfoliating effect when washing the stuff off your face. Don’t scrub too hard, or you will damage the skin…

Add about 1/2 tsp of both to the baking soda.

I usually make a jar of this mixture and store it in my kitchen cabinet. This way you can just take out a bit and prepare your facial mask whenever you want to. The dry mixture won’t go bad🙂

Store the baking soda-spices mixture in a jar for future use..

Store the baking soda-spices mixture in a jar for future use..

Prepare the dry baking soda-spices mixture anytime you like and store it in a jar.

Then, when you feel like taking a facial treatment, take out a 2 teaspoons of the mixture, put it in a small bowl and add the rest of the ingredients.

Mix 2 tsp of baking soda + 1/2 tsp Nutmeg + 1/2 tsp Cinnamon

Mix 2 tsp of baking soda + 1/2 tsp Nutmeg + 1/2 tsp Cinnamon

Part 3: Coconut milk. I like coconut milk, both for cooking and for the skin. I add it to my homemade shampoo and use it to replace regular milk while cooking. It seems to contain more fat than regular milk and contains some very beneficial ingredients! I will not elaborate on those, but if you’re interested: start you online search for information here!

Add about 1 tsp of coconut milk to your small bowl and mix.

Mix with coconut milk.

Mix with coconut milk.

And last but not least, part 4: Honey (especially the raw version) is supposed to have skin-healing and antibacterial properties. Since I’m not allowed to make any ‘medical’ statements here, I will just tell you this: it leaves your skin super soft, it tastes good and it smells nice😉 So, there you go.

Add 1 tsp of honey and mix.

Add some honey...

Add some honey…

And that’s it! Use a brush to apply it to your face and neck.

I use a spare baking brush specifically for this purpose🙂 Now I have one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom…

Mix all ingredients and apply with a brush!

Mix all ingredients and apply with a brush!

The mask will smell a bit like cookie dough and your face will look like this:

facial mask

Leave this mixture for about 20 to 30 minutes until it has dried. Wash it off with warm water while gently scrubbing your face. Make sure to use a facial creme afterwards, because it may leave your skin a bit dry at first!

There you go🙂 Extra clean face.

Your skin may be a bit red and dry for the first 30 minutes afterwards, but if you apply a moisturizing day creme (or night creme) the redness will disappear quickly.

Good luck planning your girly night!!!

Veerle ondertekening

Geef een reactie

