Learning how to use a trim router

It has been over a week since my last post.. I know, I know, but I’ve been busy with something fun!

Is there any better way to learn something new ánd to spend time with your dad at the same time, than to let him teach you how to work with a router (‘bovenfrees’ in Dutch)? I wasn’t planning on writing about this, but I had so much fun last weekend that I decided to show you what I’ve been busy with anyway. Do something fun everyday, right?

My dad has been designing and constructing speakers for years now, and their sound gets better every time. That’s the challenge🙂

Here’s a set of speakers my dad built previously. For me! It’s in my post about the DIY multimedia unit I wrote about last week.

Since I very much wanted to learn how to use a router, we planned a few days for us to work together on a set of speakers for my sister. He’d already done a lot of work before I got there, so I just helped with the last few steps of construction.  Here’s a little impression of what we did (the quality of most the pictures is terrible, I had to use my phone…).

My dad designed a ‘double-paneled’ casing, so basically we had to glue extra panels to each side. One at a time, since we had to glue them, trim them with a trim router (‘kantenfrees’ in Dutch) and sand them before mounting the next panel.

Starting with the front panel, we made some holes with a large drill and a jig saw, right before we mounted the front panel (this is where the speakers will be installed to later).

Glue the front

Glue the front

After trimming the edges, it looked like this:

Front panel installed

Front panel installed

Then, we mounted the side panels. One by one. Look at all those clamps!!

Glue the side panels

Glue the side panels

We taped the original shapes for the speaker holes back onto the casing, to prevent dust from getting into the casing while trimming the edges.

Once we got the basic speaker casing (don’t know if it’s the right expression) glued together, we used the router to trim all the edges again to get them into a nice, round shape. I got to work on one of the speakers myself, for practice, so I was a bit nervous to not make any mistakes… First time using a router on very expensive speakers, you know what I mean. We didn’t take any more pictures than this one, of my dad using the router, but I tell you: we were both completely covered in dust!!  I didn’t bring any spare jeans, so by the time I traveled back home my jeans weren’t blue anymore…

Round edges

Round edges

This is what the cases looked like after trimming the edges:

Before installing the speakers themselves

Before installing the speakers themselves

And a closeup picture of the corners and the backside: we did a good job. My sister couldn’t tell which one I worked on🙂

Closeup

Closeup

Backside

Backside

To be able to get the speakers in place, we made some holes using a large drill and a jigsaw (on Friday, before we installed the front panel). But, there’s only so much you can do with these tools and I wasn’t satisfied with the state of the edges. So I decided to try out my new dremel tool and perfect the edges. My specialty🙂 Check out my carved makeup and jewelry boxes.

I put back the original shapes we cut out, to prevent dust from getting into the casing. Here’s a picture of me working on the speaker holes:

Perfecting the holes for the speakers

Perfecting the holes for the speakers

And the result:

Not perfect, but very much improved :)

Not perfect, but very much improved🙂

Finally we made some supporting stands for the speakers, to get them in the perfect position (for a better sound).

Speaker stand

Speaker stand

And here’s the result! They sound awesome.

Result

Result

final2

Of course they still have to be finished with some paint, but you can just imagine any colour🙂

What colour would you paint these massive speakers? Please let me know! My sister is reading this blog as well😉

If you want to read and see more about building loudspeakers, check out my dad’s blog here!

Veerle ondertekening

Geef een reactie

