How to get your T-shirts white again

This weekend I’ve been busy around the house, mostly cleaning. The time had come to test something I recently read about on Onegoodthingbyjillee.com: removing yellow armpit stains from white shirts. It was posted during her ‘best-of’ week and I just had to give it a try. Check out her post here, it’s amazing!

I usually wear tight fitting shirts. Since I sweat heavily, especially when I’m nervous, I tend to wear dark, mostly black clothes.

Now that the sun is out, I guess we all want to wear some lighter and happy colours again, including white. Unfortunately, all of my white shirts get yellow stains in the end… You know what I mean?

I am so totally shameless right now, but since I hardly ever lie, here it is: The worst-case scenario, completely-ruined and only-worn-on-‘laundry day’-underneath-a-sweater shirt!

Worst-case scenario!

Worst-case scenario!

All of you having the same problem: try this!    Baking soda + 3% Hydrogen Peroxide + vinegar

ingredients

You already have baking soda around the house? Good! Then you know this stuff is great! If not: find out what you can do with baking soda here (in Dutch). You’ll be amazed.

The other ingredients you’ll need are Hydrogen Peroxide and White Vinegar. You can buy a 3% hydrogenperoxide (“waterstofperoxide” in Dutch) solution and Vinegar (“Schoonmaakazijn”) in any drug store in The Netherlands.

Grab your baking soda and hydrogen peroxide and make a paste in a bowl. You can add some dish washing soap if you like, but I guess you don’t have to. Use a scrub brush to rub in the paste, right onto the stained parts. And then you wait for two hours.

Rub in the paste and wait...

Rub in the paste and wait…

Afterwards, take your shirt and pour some diluted vinegar (just half water, half vinegar) over the (dried) paste. Wait for it to stop bubbling and wash your shirt as usual.

Look at that! I already mentioned I never edit my pictures to make them look better so this is my result. It’s not perfect, but definitely so much better!!!

Much better!

Much better!

If this was the worst-case scenario, then I guess if you treat white shirts like this once in a while, they will stay white for a longer time.

I will definitely try this wonder paste on old grease stains as well.

Will you? Let me know whether it works!!

Veerle ondertekening

 

Geef een reactie

