No Sugar Banana Waffles

Here it is, my recipe for “sort-of-healthy” waffles!

We’ve got a bit of a heatwave going on here at the moment, so it is way too hot to sand and paint furniture this week. Therefore I thought I’ld share my recipe for ‘Oerwafels’ or, from now on, “no sugar banana waffles” today. Well, depending on your definition of sugar of course… Anyway, the name pretty much summarizes the recipe🙂

different waffles

A few months ago I started a special diet, the paleodiet (“oerdieet”). It definitely helped me get rid of my stomach aches, cramps and tiredness, ánd I don’t get hungry again at night (don’t know why, but I always get hungry when I’m in bed and then get up again to eat…). Also, I had to gain some weight, and I actually did! (I usually tend to lose a lot of weight in a short period of time but it takes ages to gain that extra kg again…)

My mom’s waffles were famous when I was a child, and they were a real treat. I just adjusted the waffles recipe, so that the ingredients sort of (except for the butter) match with my diet.

If you want to try a delicious lunch or ‘Sunday Breakfast’ which is sweet, though not too disastrous for your health😉 , mix up the following ingredients (Dutch translation between brackets).

To make approximately 8 waffles:

  • 225 g Almond Flour (Amandelmeel/-Poeder)
  • 3 Eggs (Eieren)
  • 30 ml Coconut milk (Kokosmelk)
  • 3 g Baking powder (Bakpoeder, ongeveer half zakje)
  • 125 g Butter (Roomboter)
  • 2 Mashed bananas (Geprakte bananen)
  • 2 tsp(tl) Honey (Honing)

Mix the butter (at room temperature), eggs, mashed bananas and honey in a large bowl. Add the almond flour and baking powder and mix thoroughly. Add the coconut milk until you get something like this:

mix

Then take your waffle iron and start baking!

It depends on your type of waffle iron which temperature you should use. Start at a low temperature and increase it if it takes too long. What I do know from experience: these waffles take a bit longer to bake than plain waffles, and they tend to be a bit soft when you take them out of the waffle iron. They should be done in about 8 to 10 minutes. Also, make sure not to add too much batter, since the baking powder will make it expand. Just a large spoon-full is enough (or about 2 normal ones).

how much

These are delicious!!

Absolutely no sugar, but sure sweet because of the banana and honey! In fact, for most of my recipes I’ve replaced (refined) sugar by either honey or mashed bananas.

Eat them with cinnamon and sliced almonds. Best to be eaten warm🙂

waffles

different waffles

And you know what’s the best part? If you don’t own a waffle iron, don’t panic! Try making these just like pancakes. Just add a bit more coconut milk and maybe some apple slices. Mmmmm!

Enjoy!

 

Veerle ondertekening

 

 

 

 

2 gedachtes over “No Sugar Banana Waffles

  1. Hi Veerle, ik las je titel dus alsof je géén suiker-bananen wafels kon maken…. maar het ging dus om de géén suiker ín de wafels….hahaha… het zullen de hormonen wel zijn ofzo….

Geef een reactie

